top of page

Nature's Show


This piece is for my breadth. I'm trying to develop my own style, and I found that I really like the element of adding those circular shapes onto the skin of my people to highlight the places that would be shaded darker, but then to leave them white in the final drawing. I've been working on pretty composition that keep the piece balanced and yet not. This is shown in the purple rose headpiece and it's asymmetrical design. The bottom, however, pulls a more balanced look onto the piece. The background is a red curtain. I just really enjoyed doing this piece because it really fits with what I envision. The colors all work well together, which is very important to me as whenever I use colors that don't work well with others and just clash too much, I end up unhappy with a piece. I looked to artists who played around a lot with portraits and dramatic lighting for this piece, like Rembrandt.


bottom of page