top of page

Water Nymph


This piece is a water nymph. I already posted a progress shot here, but this finished copy is much further along that that work in progress was. The nymph is bathed in light from the moon and the specks of magic floating around her. This light source was a way I wanted to explore using light and darkness, and I think it turned out great with such drastic differences in lighting. My master artist was on the work in progress, but I'll include my references down a little lower. This piece helped me feel more confident in colored pencils as a medium, because I was able to blend out the colors nicely and match them to each other well, although it did take a lot of time or the project to be considered finished because I took so much time coloring it. The small details in the wrinkles of the clothes and the jewels in the belt and the plants in her hair and the moon make this piece interesting, although the focal point is her face, where it can either go up to the moon, or down her body and into the water, which is a good trial of eyesight which tells the story of the nymph becoming water herself.


bottom of page