top of page

The Weeping Angel


This piece was recreated after a sketch I had done when I was in middle school. I was going to just compare the two. It has detailed line work in the wings, and had a general shape of the composition in an ellipse in the center where her encase encase her. My plan for her pose had originally been more stiff, but I changed it to this so that it could convey emotion even without her face showing. Her wings wrap to protect her from the outside, which is also a sign of her vulnerability. I draw inspiration for pieces like this from artists like Anne Stokes (shown below), who creates mythological creatures in her art like fae and dragons and angels. I didn't have a reference for this piece in general, instead taking what I could from past drawings to make it without the help of other images. It was heavily inspired by another drawing, but I can't find that drawing anywhere and couldn't while I was drawing this either.


bottom of page