top of page

Spoon Distortion


This piece is a reflection of myself in a spoon, convexly. There are so many tings wrong wit this piece, including the very empty skin tone, the distinct lines under the eyes, the very flat coloring, the glare on the lower lip, the lips themselves, and the definitely-not-blended-well-enough paint. I was mostly experimenting with the acrylic paint at this point, so it definitely didn't turn out the way that I wanted to. I meant for the background t blur out and fade, but I didn't exactly know how to go about getting that effect with acrylic paint, so it sort of just looks shade browns and such with a watered down down film over top it. I'd actually really love to redo this piece with a medium I'm more familiar with, such as colored pencils. There's also the distortion of my face shape that I actually made too wide in this piece when compared to the reference photo. I do really like the concept of the reflection in the spoon, but I don't feel that I can do the idea justice with this medium. It's too to dimensional and unrealistic.

<----This was used as reference for this piece, and will probably used as reference for a redo later along the line as well.


bottom of page