top of page

Green with Disgust


This piece is a cubist/expressionist self portrait. It depicts the emotion of questioning disgust. I used over-dramatic shades of red in my hair in accordance with the bright colors usually used in the cubist styles. the green and yellows in the background are supposed to show the disgusted emotion even further, since both green and yellow are more universally known as colors that stand in place of disgust (for example, a green face means someone may vomit). The background crowds around the portrait itself, as if it is produced by the person. It detaches and floats away as you reach around 2/3 up the page. This is because I wanted to show that the disgust is a sort of aura that is let off emotionally. The skin is in many different shades because I wanted to show that it wouldn't blend together, and that the edges are starkly contrasted with the edges of the other shapes in the face. The face is entirely made up of shapes, and the colors were determined beforehand in terms of shading and contrasting each other.

<----This picture was used as reference for the self portrait. I made the lips in my project smaller because I wanted the eyes to take the most focus of the piece, so the sizes do differ from reference to piece.


bottom of page